Skip to content

A Very Bloggy Thanksgiving

November 20, 2011
by

When I was an undergraduate, my friends and I had a Thanksgiving tradition.  Every year, the college’s cafeteria sponsored a Thanksgiving dinner for students who elected to stay on campus during the holiday.  It was a family-style affair, with each table getting bowls full of all the traditional trimmings, complete with a whole turkey on every single table.  This was a whole, uncarved turkey, which meant that some inexperienced college student at each table (always me at my table) had to carve it herself.  It’s generous to say that my carving skills are a disaster.

After the first year of this, we were hooked.  Each subsequent year, a large group of us decided to stay at the college over the Thanksgiving weekend specifically so that we could go to the dinner together.  Our tradition arose from that first year when someone at the table suggested that we do the usual Thanksgiving thing and go around the table, each person standing up and saying what she was thankful for.  But then, we came up with a new idea (we were English majors, we were crafty).  Instead of saying what we were thankful for, we would say why we were thankful for each person at the table.  What followed was a wonderful, sometimes tearful (other times hysterical) tradition that we continued on until our graduation.

Today, I’m going to revive that tradition.  Rather than talking about just one person I’m thankful for in the WoW blogosphere, I’d like to go around my proverbial table of bloggers to say a huge “thank you” to some truly amazing people, and I’ve decided to give them some shiny new titles  as a Thanksgiving gift.

To Squelchy, the Personality

There’s no doubt in my mind that a big reason why I got into blogging in the first place was my friend and guildmate, Squelchy.  I knew of his blog before I joined our guild, and I was amazed that someone from our tiny server had a big scary thing like a blog – let alone a blog that I had seen linked to in some pretty well-known places.  Squelchy’s courage to write made blogging feel accessible to me, and he inspired me to try to make my writing as accessible as possible.  Though he recently retired from both WoW and blogging  (he has returned, yay!), Squelchy used to write a blog about rogues.  I know absolutely nothing about rogues, and yet his blog was always totally coherent and very interesting to me.  He managed to talk about his class in a way that would still be meaningful to people who had never played that class.  More importantly, every word that Squelchy wrote was infused with his own clever personality.  Even posts about rogue theorycrafting had that special Squelchy tone to them.  Thank you, Squelchy, for giving me the courage to start this blog and for showing me how to write about my class with accessibility and style.

To Keeva, the Kindly Druid

Though real life has spirited her away from us in recent months, Keeva remains one of the most important and influential names in the druid community.  Keeva’s Tree Bark Jacket was the single most important resource I used when I was learning how to heal on my druid for the first time.  She is always so warm and approachable when druids ask her questions on her blog, and the first time I saw her comment here I think I nearly passed out from excitement.  Thank you, Keeva, for your kindness and for all the help you’ve given young druids.

To Beruthiel, the Heroic

Beruthiel was one of the first bloggers in the WoW community who made me feel like I was becoming a part of that community.  She interviewed me for the Twisted Nether Welcome Wagon a few months after I created my blog, and I truly felt that she ushered me into the WoW blogosphere.  Beyond this, Beru’s inspirational post about her real-life relationship that grew from a WoW friendship took an amazing amount of guts to write and publish, and it helped me to feel more comfortable speaking out about the origins of my own relationship.  Thank you, Beru, for welcoming me to the blogosphere, for being strong enough to write about what matters to you, and for being my infallible source for all the information I need about healing heroic raids.

To Johnnie and Hugh, the Ralliers

Make no mistake, I would not be writing this post right now if it weren’t for Johnnie at MMO Melting Pot.  Very likely, you wouldn’t be reading this post if not for Hugh.  Late in the summer, I basically decided I didn’t feel like writing this blog anymore.  After a month or two with no new posts, I got an email from Johnnie.  It was simply a kind reminder that the editors of the Pot read my blog and that they were looking forward to seeing future posts.  It was the kick that I needed to get me writing again.  Shortly thereafter, Hugh linked a few of my posts on the Pot, including an extremely nice write-up when I wondered What Makes a Good Raid?  Thank you, Johnnie and Hugh, for giving me the push that I needed exactly when I needed it.  Your encouragement has meant so much to me.

So thank you, to each and every one of you amazing bloggers, and to the many more amazing bloggers who I’m lucky enough to get to interact with every single day on Twitter and through their own blogs.  Thank you for taking the time to be kind and welcoming while also being extremely skilled and knowledgeable players.  I hope each of you has a wonderful Thanksgiving.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2011 7:13 pm

    I love the titles thing u did, really clever tzu! Great reading 🙂

    • November 20, 2011 7:29 pm

      Thanks, glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

  2. November 20, 2011 7:30 pm

    Great Read! Thanks for joining in this year’s Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving Event! I really don’t know if all the judges has been reading the entries yet. But whatever it is, I bet they are busy grading your guys now! So I can’t thank you guys enough for participating! Good Luck!

    • November 21, 2011 8:40 am

      It was a really great idea for an event, Amerence. Thank you for putting it together.

  3. November 20, 2011 7:47 pm

    OMG…

    *runs away before He Who Cries At Coke Commercials starts really blubbering*

    • November 21, 2011 8:39 am

      I think that title may be a tad bit too long.

    • November 21, 2011 7:00 pm

      He Who Speaks of Himself in the Third Person disagrees.

  4. November 20, 2011 10:13 pm

    *tears*

    This is an awesome idea- giving thanks for people in your life! I will for sure keep that in mind for my next (canadian) thanksgiving.

    Thumbs up for this great post!

  5. November 21, 2011 12:26 am

    Traditions are a wonderful thing to participate in as well as to remember. The memories we have from them stays with us long after the turkey leftovers have been knifed over like a Rogue corpse camping. It is a delightful flavor on our mental taste buds to reflect and fondly recall those that have left an impression.

    I really liked you sharing about your experiences in college at the communal Thanksgiving table and how the fellowship grew. Sharing with one another a specific “Why” I can only imagine brought everyone closer together.

    Within the community of WoW bloggers may we continue to model and grow the fellowship around a table overflowing with humor, sincerely connecting moments, tears, and encouragement throughout the rest of the year. Oh yeah and Edenvale hopefully is keeping us stocked with Pumpkin Pie. Seriously I will use a butter knife in a duel over come Pumpkin Pie and whipped cream.

    • November 21, 2011 8:38 am

      I’m glad you enjoyed the story! 🙂

  6. November 21, 2011 4:41 am

    Happy Thanksgiving.
    I love the fact that everyone is referencing personal experiences in these thanksgiving posts, partly because I’m nosy but also because it brings the community closer together.

    • November 21, 2011 8:37 am

      And to you!
      Yes, it really has been nice to get to know a little bit more about so many bloggers through this event.

  7. November 21, 2011 9:15 am

    I’m really enjoying thanksgiving posts that talk about blog’s beginnings. It seems we all took a little courage from another blogger to get started, kind of a blogger pay it forward and we all benefit!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • November 21, 2011 10:28 pm

      Yep, that has been a very fun part of all of this. It’s kind of giving me the idea that maybe I should do the 20 days of blogging challenge sometime soon. <.<

  8. November 21, 2011 10:24 pm

    Great Post there Tzu.
    We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here but it’s always nice to hear when someone comes up with something different. 🙂

    GL with your entry.

  9. November 22, 2011 11:29 am

    Very uniquely written, well done!

  10. November 23, 2011 2:07 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving!! I love your traditions! Makes me want to go make some new ones!! 🙂

  11. November 28, 2011 1:36 pm

    That’s such a lovely spin on the “saying thanks” tradition!

    I think Beru and Keeva have inspired a lot of us 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving Event 2011! | Martha.net
  2. Monday Musings – Thankful Edition « Falling Leaves and Wings
  3. Shared Topic: Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving Event | Twisted Nether Blogcast
  4. 100 Posts, Thousands of Thanks « Tree Heals Go Woosh

Leave a Comment