Skip to content

My 2012 Blogging Resolution

January 6, 2012
by

A quick thought before I run off to enjoy my weekend:

It’s easy to forget how lonely blogging can feel when it seems like you’re speaking to empty space.  Since many of us read our daily supply of blog posts on feeders (which generally don’t show up on statistics), it may even look like no one’s reading when this isn’t true.  Commenting on a blog post that you enjoy ensures that you’re actually visiting the blogger’s page, and it gives you a chance to tell them just how much you’ve appreciated the thought they put into what you just read.  Comments are one of the best parts of blogging, but they’re also something that we often don’t take the time to do.

So my resolution for this year of blogging is to comment on at least one blog post every day.

Resolutions, like diets, are best done in pairs.  Lilpeanut, who writes the Heal Over Time blog, has graciously agreed to be my “accountability partner” for this plan.  I assume we’ll probably harass each other via Twitter on a daily basis to make sure that we’re keeping up with our promises.

If you’re like me and have a giant collection of blogs amassed in your feed reader, I’m issuing you a challenge:  Comment on at least one blog post every day.  Find yourself an accountability buddy and make it happen.  If you don’t have a giant blog collection yet, head on over to Blog Azeroth and get started.

(And remember, giving the gift of comments often results in your blog getting more page views and comments in return!)

27 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 6:13 pm

    Whilst once a day is unlikely for me, I am trying to comment a lot more. Like all my resolutions, no doubt it will start off with me scrawling stuff all over the place (up to three comments today already :D) and end up with one a month.

    • January 6, 2012 6:49 pm

      Ah the depressing decline of resolutions. I only gave myself a goal of one per day because I knew that any more would ensure failure and mean that I gave up by March. But kudos to you on three today – you seem to comment quite a bit, or at least quite a bit more than I manage to. 😛

  2. January 6, 2012 6:33 pm

    *comment deleted in support of curmudgeons*

  3. January 6, 2012 6:54 pm

    ” you seem to comment quite a bit”

    Only looks that way. I tend to binge comment. Going to try harder though.

  4. Moonspeaker permalink
    January 6, 2012 7:05 pm

    Nothing witty or insightful to say but: I do love and appreciate your blog!

    • January 6, 2012 7:07 pm

      Aw, thank you very much! *warm fuzzy tree hugs*

  5. January 6, 2012 7:11 pm

    I need to do this as well. So often I will read a post and say I’ll comment later, but then forget! Or I’ll talk to them on Twitter instead, which is nice, but not as nice as the permanence of a blog comment. Good resolution. 🙂

    • January 6, 2012 7:14 pm

      Twitter is such a blessing and a curse for this. It’s great for instant feedback but, yeah, it lacks the permanence of a comment. As I told Hugh from the Pot earlier today (on Twitter <.<), I'm trying to RT all the blog posts I see throughout the day that I want to comment on later. That way, when I get home from work, it's easy to go through my tweets to find the posts again rather than getting bogged down in the giant Twitter and RSS feeds from the day.

  6. January 6, 2012 7:56 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. It’s nice to know if someone read your blog post and said they liked it but it’s just nice to know by adding a comment to show this, as Rades says to give some permanence. I often think I’m just typing for myself if I don’t get any comments for a while. But then you get a really nice comment from someone, even someone new and that can just brighten up your whole day.

    While it’s also nice to get RT’s it’s a little disappointing when you don’t get much of an increase in traffic from it, esp from said RT’er.

    • January 6, 2012 8:16 pm

      Agreed. RTing is often the closest I can get to saying “Hey I loved your post it was really insightful and it made my day” when I’m running around at work. It’s totally insufficient, but sometimes it’s the best I can do until I can get home in front of my own computer. :-/

  7. January 7, 2012 12:47 am

    Yippee! Maybe Tzu might visit me more 🙂 /wink

    • January 7, 2012 8:58 am

      Navimie! You’re like my commenting hero – every time I see a good post that I should comment on, you’ve already been there! 😛

  8. January 7, 2012 9:12 pm

    I had this as a resolution too, although I didn’t put a specific number on it like you did (1 a day).
    I’m partially inspired – I’ve always had this personal rule, that I only comment if I think I have something to add or something interesting to say, but at the same time, even the simplest “I liked your article” comment can be such a joy when you’re on the receiving end, so maybe I should just do it, comment more even though it only means I’ll say “nice post, I enjoyed it”.

    • January 8, 2012 12:07 am

      I certainly see your point about making sure that you’re adding something of substance to the conversation when you comment. In my case, this is more of a way to ensure that I follow through with what I’m thinking when I read posts, because I often have something I’d like to add to the conversation but either wimp out or forget by the time I can sit down and have a second look at it. Setting a specific goal forces me to get those thoughts out, no matter what.

      And, yes, I think that the happiness it brings to the majority of bloggers to even get a “nice post” sort of comment makes it worthwhile. 🙂

  9. January 8, 2012 9:20 am

    Oh, this sounds like a great resolution. And you are absolutely right, I know I have put a lot of time and love into some really lengthy posts that never got any comment love, and it can be quite discouraging. Once I made the statement I wish more people would comment my posts, and someone said something about there being two types of bloggers: those who blog because they want to write, and those who blog because they want to be read. Maybe I took it the wrong way, but that seemed like they could have been suggesting the latter was a fault. Honestly, I consider myself an equal mix of both of those kinds of bloggers. I might not be the best and most insightful writer out there, but it is still something that I really enjoy doing with my free time, and I certainly don’t want it to feel like time wasted also. Twitter has def helped me feel more a member of the blogging community, and increased discussion on my blog (which is what I want really, not sheer number of comments or views), and I really wish I had done it sooner, but Rades def made a good point. So many times I have friends (and now occassionally a fellow Tweeter) tell me, hey I really enjoyed your post because of x and y, and I really want to say THEN WHY DIDN’T YOU COMMENT ALL THAT. I suppose it doesn’t matter one way or the other in what form their view is given to you, but…. yeah discussion etc etc I am rambling now I think.

    But at the same time I am probably guilty of skimming, or sticking to my reader or neglecting to comment too. I hope I can strive to be better at it as well. Thanks for the inspiration as usual! 🙂

    • January 8, 2012 2:36 pm

      “Those who blog because they want to write, and those who blog because they want to be read.”

      That’s a really interesting way to put it. Do you remember who said that, by any chance? I like the idea of it, though I’d adapt it to “those who blog because they want TO READ.” With that change, I’d say I’m probably more of the later, too. I wouldn’t necessarily think of it as a bad thing, though. Sometimes, when I write a post I’m more interested in gathering information and seeing other people’s perspectives than I am in explaining my view on the subject. Sometimes I don’t even really have a view yet and I find the question particularly interesting in-and-of-itself. (That was true, for example, in my post about the ethics of raid finder loot – I wrote that for mostly selfish reasons of wanting to see what the rest of the community thought about a question that perhaps hadn’t occurred to them yet.) So, yes, it’s important to me that people read what I’m writing, but it’s important because I want to hear what they have to say about the topic, too. And that’s why comments are so important! 😀

  10. January 8, 2012 9:27 am

    I have a bad habit of RTing those I enjoyed but feeling that a simple “I agree and enjoyed this” type of comment is silly. You’re all right – I should at least leave those!

    • January 8, 2012 2:38 pm

      You know, the funny thing that I’ve noticed in just the last few days as I’ve started doing this is that a comment that may start as “I agree and enjoyed this” can suddenly turn into a paragraph or two. Once I make the commitment to hit the comment button and get to work, it’s a lot easier to find a more in-depth response than what I originally expected to say. Hopefully this will be the case for some other people as well!

  11. January 8, 2012 4:09 pm

    I think this is a great idea. My problem is I sometimes struggle to think of what to say in a comment even when I’ve loved the blog post. But I will try to do one a day from now on 🙂

    • January 8, 2012 5:18 pm

      I have trouble with this too, Bravetank. I feel like no matter what I write, I’m probably not going to convey just how much I liked someone’s post, and I don’t want to offend and make them think that I don’t appreciate how much work they put into it. :-/

  12. January 8, 2012 4:59 pm

    Thanks for being my “accountabilibuddy.” 🙂 I’m happy to see that people are fine with hearing a simple “Loved it, thank you!” It might sound somewhat spammy or bottish and as a fellow writer I feel like I have a responsibility to contribute more than that. I get self-conscious and don’t want others to think, “Dangit, you’re a writer too, can’t you get more creative than that?!?!” But honestly it’s all I can muster at that very moment sometimes. 😦 We really do get in our own way, don’t we?

    • January 8, 2012 5:35 pm

      Gosh, do we ever. I swear I spend more time worrying that I’ll sound dumb when I comment on someone else’s post than I ever do worrying about my own writing. And that’s awful, because it defeats the point – the comment isn’t about *me* it’s about the writer! /slaps hand

      “Accountabilibuddy” should be added to the dictionary, btw. 😀

  13. January 9, 2012 7:24 pm

    Dropping by and Comment! k thanks bye! but seriously its one of those resolution too that I like to do for this year, comment on blogs I enjoyed or not even just that but I try to comment to every bloggers i know. hehe =) Thanks for sharing Tzufit! and yes yes please come by and visit Blog Azeroth and share any ideas to talk about. Have fun guys!

    • January 9, 2012 7:30 pm

      That’s a great point, Amerence – commenting and beginning a conversation on someone’s blog can be a fantastic way to get to know them a little better! 🙂

  14. January 13, 2012 12:22 am

    What an admirable resolution! Just had to leave a comment on such a topical post 😉 Good luck with the resolution!

    • January 13, 2012 7:17 pm

      Thank you, Angelya! A week in, and so far so good. Hopefully I can keep up with it. 🙂

Leave a Comment

