Skip to content

Altered Priorities

December 24, 2010
by

I have a lot of alts, and I enjoy playing pretty much all of them.  In my mind, it’s not just about always having something to do – it’s also about learning the other classes as well as possible.  Reading through talent trees and spell lists is one thing; actually leveling the class is another.  That said, I’ve spent almost no time at all on my alts since Cataclysm launched.

For the first week or so, I guess that made sense.  I wanted to prioritize leveling, gearing, and reputation grinds on my druid, and so I shelved everyone else.  Now that she’s in good enough gear to start thinking about raiding, I could easily turn some attention back to my alts … except that I can’t seem to bring myself to do so.

My newly-gnome priest has gotten the most love so far, but even she’s stuck at about halfway to level 81.  Some of the problem is that there are fewer questing areas in Cataclysm than there were in Wrath, and I’m getting bored with them pretty quickly since it feels like I just did them.  (After hitting 85, I went back to the areas I’d skipped because I decided I wanted to get the Loremaster of Cataclysm achievement.)  I’m also not particularly enjoying leveling the priest as shadow because of my irrational hatred of questing as a caster.  I found myself wishing I’d respeced to feral pretty quickly into my leveling grind on my druid, if only because the melee leather quest rewards were so much better and so much easier to come by than their caster counterparts.

The problem with all this stalling, though, is that I’m pretty dependent on a lot of those alts’ tradeskills both for supplying my druid with what she needs, and for making gold.  I’m used to having max-level gatherers to do my dirty work for me, and being at the mercy of AH prices is getting old fast.  With the long holiday weekend, I’m hoping to find some motivation to get back to the leveling grind with one of the other 80s.

Anyone else having trouble getting started?  Or am I the only one who hasn’t managed to get 3 toons to 85 yet?  🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2010 8:02 pm

    Hoo boy yes, yes I am.

    Ever sinced I dinged 85 on Iztli, I really just feel like working on her gear, on her dailies, finishing up Cataclysm zones… my ‘main’ is languishing at 83, and I can’t quite bring myself to want top lay her, event hough I’m excited to try holydin PVP at max level and even have most of the starter holy pvp set waiting. I’m doing Deepholm (again) and now I feel pretty much obligated to do Uldum instead of Twilight Highlands because I never finished Uldum on Iz.

    There’s so many things I want to do, game-wise, that I’ve completely abandonned RP, which has my RP buddies somewhat perturbed, which in turn makes me feel bad for logging straight to my shaman… but right now there’s so much derpy worgen RP, I don’t even want to touch it with a ten foot pole and some disinfectant.

    Priorities? What are those??

    • December 27, 2010 6:08 am

      Hehe, tell me about it! I actually did manage to get a bit of leveling done on my alts this weekend, but only after I’d done about 20 dailies on my druid, and even then only until someone would whisper me asking if I wanted to do a random heroic. (“Random heroic!? SURE! Let me just hearth and then I’ll switch to my druid!”)

      I suppose I’m fortunate to have missed out on seeing any “derpy-worgen RP” yet, though I’ll admit a morbid curiosity.

  2. Pallby permalink
    December 27, 2010 12:48 pm

    I just can’t get back into my ret paladin again. It feels like pulling teeth to go out and kill anything. So I have no ventured forth to try dailies or grind rep. I think I’ve only done 3 or so of the new instances. Nothing on heroic.

    I’m finding much enjoyment in leveling my Enhancement Shaman atm, though.

    • December 27, 2010 2:18 pm

      There’s a Pallby on my blog …

      Enhance is so much fun, isn’t it? The only alt who’s been getting attention (aside from my priest) is my enhancement shaman. I really love the rotation and priority system they have.

      Fortunately, as the self-professed “King of Alts,” you have plenty of options to turn to if you continue to be disappointed with the changes to Ret. I suppose that’s one of the nice things about a new xpac – it’s an equalizer, and therefore a good time to change mains if you so choose. It’s not like it matters much that one toon is in 277s and the other hasn’t quite made it into T10 now.

  3. Pallby permalink
    December 29, 2010 9:13 am

    Very true Fifi. I have plenty of alts to work my way through if Ret still continues to disappoint.

    Enhance is pretty awesome. I’m enjoying leveling from the beginning and seeing the new zones they added. I’ve been playing for a long time and I love what they did to EPL and WPL. They flow well and are actually fun to play through. STV is still kinda stale. The new ZG quests are kinda fun though.

    I haven’t ventured to Kalimdor yet. So I wouldn’t mind working my way through those on a future alt.

  4. December 30, 2010 10:29 am

    I’ve done very little with my alts, for much the same reasons as you. (Vashj’ir again? No thanks.) I know I’ll get to them soon, but my question is which will get there first. Before the old-world changes it wouldn’t have even been a question; my shaman is my only other max character. But with my gnome priest so close to reaching Outlands, I may just power-level him through dungeons as Disc and make him my new “main alt.”

    I mean, he’s a gnome. How can I not love him?

    • December 31, 2010 9:48 am

      I have to vote for the gnome priest because … he’s a gnome priest. (Not that you’re soliciting votes, I’ve just decided to throw in my two cents.) One of my regrets going into this xpac is not having enough character slots on our server to be able to really experience all the new content in the old world with at-level toons.

      Unfortunately, once you get to Outland it’s still just the same old Outland. But if you should get your priest into his 60s anytime soon, I have a lonely gnome warrior who needs some attention and would be happy to tank Ramps a few dozen times for you. 🙂

Leave a Comment

