Skip to content

Vidyala’s Challenge

March 28, 2011
by

 

Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.

The WoW blogosphere’s been through a lot in the last month.

First we heard that Righteous Orbs was shutting down, Larísa toasted her last toast just yesterday, and today we lost Derevka at Tales of a Priest.  All around we see people who were moving on, either from blogging about WoW or from playing WoW at all.  Personally, I wondered what to do in order to keep my motivation and interest in the available endgame content.  It certainly made for a bit of a sad month to see so many goodbyes and uncertain futures.

Losing voices in the blogosphere can be just as difficult as losing guildmates and other in-game friends because of the daily conversations we have with one another.  In the three years I’ve been playing, I’ve had the good fortune of coming across some amazing people through WoW and have even gotten the opportunity to meet a few of them outside of Azeroth.  As the years have gone by I’ve lost touch with many of the people I met along the way.  Some moved to other guilds or other servers, and others lost interest in the game as it grew and changed.  Some I’ve managed to keep in touch with, many more I haven’t.  But just as WoW’s scenery changes from month to month, so do the people in the game.  Each time someone leaves there’s a new face and a new voice.

Fortunately for those of us who remain, Vidyala of Manalicious and Fannon of Dwarven Battle Medic have issued us a wonderful challenge.  Fannon and Vidyala each suggest finding a new blogger and introducing them in a post as a way of both honoring the voices who have left us recently and celebrating new life in the blogosphere.  In that spirit, here are a few recommendations:

  • Blame Squelchy —  Ok, Squelchy isn’t new on the blogging scene.  He’s been around for more than a year now, and you may have seen his posts linked on WoW Insider.  I’m linking to him here, though, because I suspect that many of you reading this are either druid or healer types and perhaps aren’t sure what a gnome rogue’s blog would have for you.  Squelchy has an effortless, humorous, and conversational writing style that had me hooked at first read.  Sure, he’s a guildie and a good friend now, but I first started reading his blog before either of those things was true.  If you’re interested in anything involving gnomes, rogues, how to blame the gnome rogue in your guild for basically anything, or if you want a well-written blog that covers a little bit of everything WoW, then Blame Squelchy is the place for you.
  • Totemic Grace —  Laerith is another guildie, and a truly amazing shaman healer.  I can personally vouch for her skill – we have spent a lot of time healing together in the last year.  She has a fantastic understanding of her class’ mechanics, and is a gifted theorycrafter as well.  Laerith has already gotten a good bit of well-deserved attention from the shaman community, but I highly recommend her blog to any WoW healer.
  • The Middle of the Forest —  Zaralyn is brand new to the blogosphere and just happens (nudge nudge, wink wink) to be a resto druid!  She’s put up an introductory post describing her goals for her blog, which include a focus on normal 10 man raiding.  As someone who spends a lot of time in 10 man raids as well, I know that I’m really looking forward to the advice and opinions she has to offer.  She has also set up a helpful list of both resto druid and raid leader references for her visitors.  Welcome, Zaralyn!

As for me, well, I have no intention of going anywhere.  My WoW slump is rapidly coming to an end thanks to a little bit bit of time away from the game, some recent alting, and a renewed interest in progressing through this tier’s remaining challenges.  My goals for the blog include finishing off the resto guides for the rest of the encounters I’ve completed, and getting myself back to a more regular posting schedule.

Thank you to Vidyala for such a wonderful post and idea.  If you haven’t had a chance to read her original post yet, I suggest that you head over to Manalicious and do so.  New bloggers, new articles, and new comments will help ensure that our community continues to thrive and grow.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 11:28 pm

    Thanks for the mention, Tzufit. Just for the record, Vidalya come up with the challenge idea… I just responded to it, the same as you.

    There are some interesting blogs that you’ve linked, none of which I was familiar with. I’m heading to check them out now!

    • March 29, 2011 9:04 am

      Thanks for the comment, Fannon! I saw that the original idea came from Manalicious, but I wanted to make sure to link to your post as well because I thought you did a great job of explaining the climate of things in the blogosphere and in-game right now.

      Glad to hear you’ve found some new things to add to your feed burner. I found quite a few on your list as well.

  2. March 29, 2011 9:07 am

    My notification pinged when you published this. Firstly, thanks for reading Tales… I will miss writing it; but I wanted to end it on a high note vs. slowly running out of time to post and having it fade into the abyss.

    I gotta applaud you for pushing and challenging the other bloggers out there to rise the the occasion and fill the void that Tales, PPI, and RO have left. I look forward to seeing the development!

    Cheers,
    D

    • March 29, 2011 8:30 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Derevka. :) I really respect you for choosing to leave on a high note. While it’s sad, I think it’s also always better to leave on your own terms rather than just fading away without having a clear ending.

      Thanks for all your writing, and good luck in all you do!

  3. Squelchy permalink
    March 30, 2011 9:17 am

    Thanks for the mention, Tzufit. Wait, did you really start reading before we were guildies? That can’t be right. I don’t think I was blogging then.

    Anyway, I was pretty close to shutting up shop for a while there myself. Now I guess I need to keep on going so I don’t lose your readers! :)

    • March 30, 2011 9:32 am

      Yep! You started blogging a few months before I joined CoD (I’ve been with the guild just over a year) – Shin mentioned your blog to me at the time.

  4. March 30, 2011 2:30 pm

    Aww, thanks for the link Tzufit! I suppose I should actually finish one of the *cough*4*cough* posts that I have in draft now.

    • March 30, 2011 8:04 pm

      You’re welcome! I’d tell you how many draft posts are sitting in my Word Press dashboard right now, but I’d rather not embarrass myself if I don’t have to. <.<

  5. Pallby permalink
    March 31, 2011 1:23 pm

    You should allow me to guest post. I see nothing wrong with this.

    • March 31, 2011 4:54 pm

      We can talk about it, but I worry that if I let you guest post you’ll never get around to actually starting the blog you’ve been talking about for months now. :P

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,503 other followers

