Skip to content

To worgen or not to worgen?

January 15, 2011
by

I can’t play a worgen.

It’s not for lack of trying, I promise.  When I got the email from Blizzard letting me know that I’d been selected for the first round of beta invites (SQUEE!), one of the first things I did was play through the worgen starting area.  Actually, I played through it 3 times before I gave up my beta testing career.  (I copied my druid over, flew to Mount Hyjal, saw Ysera, and immediately logged because I didn’t want to ruin anything else for myself – fail beta tester, I know.)

The first run through was an utter failure for reasons that are all my fault … I sort of mistakenly created my worgen on a Korean server and then couldn’t figure out why all the players around me and in General Chat were only speaking in “?????s.”  I figured it out like two hours later.  The second attempt (on an English-speaking server, thank you very much), was a no-go mostly due to my frustration with incomplete cinematics, buggy quests, unfinished models, and all the other oddities that go along with a work in progress.  Have I mentioned recently that I make a bad beta tester?  The final attempt mostly took hold, except by then I’d also messed around with the goblin starting area a bit and was having much more fun there.  I figured I’d might as well play through the whole goblin starting experience on beta since I really only play Alliance on my server and already had plans to create a worgen mage when Cataclysm went live.

Flash forward to about two weeks before release.  I start doing my preliminary reading about mages, and think through what spec I’d like the worgen to be.  I pick the Pink Kitty’s brain about his maxed level mage and we decide that we’ll level our worgen without heirlooms so we can experience as much of the new Old World stuff as we can.  I clean out and finally delete my bank alt, who was holding the precious tenth spot on my server.  Worgen mage: GO.

How’s she doing now?

Look! A worgen fire mage!  Wearing absolutely no heirloom gear!

Ok, now before you judge me, let me explain.

I did roll a worgen mage.  I played all the way through the starting area.  I speced her as fire because it sounded like fun and I didn’t send her any of the heirlooms.  I got her to Stormwind, and then on to Westfall to do some of the new quests there, and she even ran the Deadmines once.  She sheeped things!

But then … well, the worgen and I started to grow apart.  It wasn’t that she looked like what I imagine my dog would look like if I stopped feeding him for a month.  It wasn’t the harrowing realization that there was no way I could get exalted with another Alliance city before level 20 and would have to spend at least a short while using Running Wild to get around.  It wasn’t even my preformed prejudice against the whole Gilnean race for the laughable way that Blizzard managed to write worgen druids into WoW’s history.  Nope, it wasn’t even that.

My worgen and I parted ways due to one simple thing: her idle noises.
Specifically, the sniffing.

I like to play WoW with my sound on.  Aside from enjoying the music, I also live and die by the auditory cues from MSBT.  Turning it off isn’t really an option; and before you start telling me that there’s some way to go into my sound options and only turn off that sort of thing – don’t bother.  I’m not looking for logic here.

There are few things that make my skin crawl more than overly loud, snotty-sounding sniffling.  (Yes, I know that’s not why worgen sniff; they sniff because they’re so ferociously untamed or whatever.)  But all I can think of when I heard that worgen mage sniff was that guy I hated to sit next to in my Ethics class in college, because he spent the entire period in a semi-asthmatic, phlegm-filled haze reminiscent of Brainy from Hey Arnold.  It made my hair stand on end.

I realize I’m being petty.  I don’t care.  Overly loud sniffling is one of my irrational pet peeves in real life – I’m not going to sit there and listen to it while I’m playing a game as well.  So a “d-e-l-e-t-e” later, and I wound up with the gnome mage you see above.  Why a gnome?  Because they’re adorably destructive, that’s why.  And because that takes me up to 50% of my characters on my main server having Gnomish origins.

As for the heirloom gear … well, I don’t have much of an excuse there.  I faithfully stuck to quest rewards and what my mage could make herself from tailoring until about level 20, when I got the idea in my head that I wanted to try out a few battlegrounds.  I’m not crazy, though, and if I was going in there I certainly wasn’t going to do it with the tiny amount of health quest greens were giving me.  A few alt-hops later and the mage found herself with shoulders, robes, a staff, two trinkets, and a newly purchased heirloom cloak.

I’m beginning to think I have no willpower.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Osi permalink
    January 16, 2011 4:30 pm

    I have to agree with you. The sound FX is horrible. I don’t think Blizz would fix it either. They are still 2 expansions behind on features and bug fixes.

  2. Sar permalink
    January 17, 2011 7:02 pm

    There is almost certainly a sound addon that will silence that sound. There are already sounds you can download to replace the sound of in-game guns, and the stupid motorcycle idleing noise. Might be worth checking into.

  3. Squelchy permalink
    January 17, 2011 10:51 pm

    Bah! You can’t stop the doggie power!

    And slow down your durned levelin’.

    • January 18, 2011 8:51 am

      30-40 flew by as if by accident. Don’t worry – I’ll probably slow down a bit now. I’m in no rush to hit Outland and Northrend.

    • January 20, 2011 8:05 am

      The very existence of this add-on proves that I’m not crazy.

      Also, thanks! I think I keep this blog updated just because people keep linking me to helpful things on Curse. :P

  4. Tracey permalink
    January 25, 2011 11:06 am

    Yes! I haven’t tried a Worgen yet, but there were a couple of females that were at the bank with me regularly for a while. And that…snuffling! Do the male worgen do it, too? I badly want to see the starter zone, but I’m not sure I can handle the sound past that.

    @squelchy – thanks for the addon link! That could be the worgen’s salvation!

    • January 25, 2011 11:41 am

      Yep, Tracey, the sniffing is there for both males and females. Even so, the worgen starting area is certainly fun to play through – either stick your computer on mute or grab the add on Squelchy suggested and try it out. :P

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,503 other followers

